top three fruits ever

First things first: I love cake. Cake was my last stand against going vegan; I told myself that I couldn’t do it because I would have such a hard time finding cake (which is increasingly wrong – many mainstream bakeries now offer at least one vegan item!). There is nothing I hate more than when people say that “fruit is nature’s candy” – no. Fruit is fruit, and it will never be equivalent to candy, and especially not to cake.

That said, damn, there are some delicious fruits out there.

1. Dates

I used to think I didn’t like dates. I had somehow got them mixed up with plums, which I genuinely don’t like, and so I never bothered trying them. I don’t know why I didn’t realise that since sticky date pudding was so delicious, surely dates would be delicious as well? But I guess I just wasn’t thinking clearly. I went to dinner at a friend’s house once, and she had got me some dates for dessert since she wasn’t sure what else would be a good dessert for a vegan – so obviously, out of politeness, I tried one.

I weep, now, for all the dates I’ve been offered and declined through the years. If I only knew what deliciousness I was allowing to pass through my fingers! This is the one fruit I would forgive people for calling “nature’s candy,” since it actually is that sweet and delicious. I am still a bit fearful of having too many at a time, but I like to push my limits and live on the edge.

2. Rock melon

This is another one that I thought I didn’t like. Thinking back on my life, I should probably stop saying I don’t like something if I don’t know for sure. I think it’s a holdover from when I was a picky child – there are a lot of things I genuinely don’t like, but that doesn’t have to extend to things I haven’t even tried.

I have always loved watermelon, but all other types of melon were outside my scope. We just never had them in the house when I was younger, so I assumed that I didn’t like them. Obviously, when I was flying to Australia about a month ago and realised that my dessert was a fruit cup made up of only different types of melon, I was pretty disappointed. However, when you are on a plane, I feel like the best course of action is to eat whatever is put in front of you, no matter if you like it or not, because you know you’re not getting that much food, and you know it’ll be hours before they offer you anything else. So I tried it, and… it was the most beautiful thing I’d eaten in a long time. I actually prefer rock melon over watermelon, now.

3. Avocado

Obviously, everyone who is anyone already loves avocado. I don’t need to tell you that it’s the most delicious fatty fruit (or berry? Don’t ruin this for me) on the planet. But what you might not know is that it is absolutely delicious with nutritional yeast on top!

For those of you who aren’t already vegan, nutritional yeast sounds like a strange thing that no one should have to be subjected to. If you only knew, though; it’s a yellow flaky powder of cheesy, nutty deliciousness. It goes amazingly on avocado with a sprinkle of salt! I urge everyone to try it ASAP.

Avocados are also super bomb with marmite; I already eat marmite straight out of the jar, so when someone told me avocado and marmite were a match made in heaven, I was instantly on board. I think what they mean when they say that avocado and marmite is a good combination is that you should try it on toast, but who needs bread? Not me, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

