ambition vs. inertia

One problem that I have in my life is that I often feel like I should “do something,” but the what of what I’m supposed to do completely stumps me. I’m almost scared to admit it, because it makes me sound like such a boring person, but most of the time if I feel like I want to do something, my first thought is “well, I can’t sit at home on the internet all day! Let me pack my computer up and go to Starbucks and sit on the internet all day instead”. How sad is that!?

Things that I would like to do more of in my life include exercising – I’d love to get back in the hoop again – and… I can’t think of much else except a nebulous “something”. Reading? Writing? These are all things that aren’t actually that hard to do, but I have a hard time doing anything at the drop of a hat. I’d prefer to have things planned from the day before, if possible, but that requires me to actually make a plan the day before. For a while, I was pretty good at using my planner; maybe if I got back into that again, I’d have a busier life!

I also worry that it says more than I’d like about my willingness to start making the changes to my life that I would like to implement. I don’t want to work for anyone else, ideally; I’d like to have a career working solely for myself, but that requires more than just wishful thinking. It requires that you’re not one of those “creative types” who never actually create anything – and being one of those people is one of my worst fears. The only thing you need to do to become one of them is absolutely nothing. So hey, time to break out the planner and make sure that it’s full!

2 thoughts on “ambition vs. inertia

  1. I got some great advice a while ago. If you are not sure what to do, then follow your curiosity. What are you curious about? Start learning and doing that. Along the way you will find your purpose. Thanks for sharing!

    1. That’s pretty good advice. Kind of along the same lines as “if you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life”. I like it!

Leave a Reply

