melbourne restaurants

One of the good things about Melbourne is that there’s a pretty good variety of vegetarian restaurants. I rarely bother going out to a nice restaurant unless it’s vegetarian – depending on country, you might have one to three choices that are meat free, and one of them will invariably be a boring salad. The second one is usually pasta with red sauce and three pieces of vegetable.

Luckily, Melbourne has heaps of good veggie restaurants, and that’s one of the things I will definitely miss the most about it!

MADAME K’SΒ (367 Brunswick street, Fitzroy)

When I die, bury me at Madame K’s. They have the most DELICIOUS tofu on the planet. I would literally get on a plane right now and go to Melbourne overnight just for a chance to eat here again. Without question, this is one of the best restaurants I have eaten at ever. I think a lot of their clientele is people who come in because Veggie Bar was too full and it’s the closest veggie restaurant (just across the street), but I can’t imagine anyone ever regretted it. Most of the food here is Thai or Thai inspired, and it is all cooked to perfection. I’m actually feeling a bit weepy just thinking about it.

VEGGIE BARΒ (380 Brunswick street, Fitzroy)

This is one of the most popular restaurants in Melbourne, full stop! I downloaded a travel guide to Melbourne, and they listed this as one of the five best restaurants in Melbourne (it was the only veggie restaurant to be included on the list). I do like it, and one of the things that might push it into the top spot over Madame K’s for other people is that it has a lot more variety when it comes to cuisine. If you want Asian food, Madame K’s wins easily, but if you’re out with people who are not so keen, and would rather have a burger or some other type of western food (which is your problem, really, why are you even friends with them?) Veggie Bar might be a better alternative. The biggest downside is that because it’s so popular, if you get there after 6.30 on a weekend, you will be waiting for a table for at least half an hour. I’ve never actually braved the wait because I know there is a slice of heaven waiting for me just across the street, so I can’t tell you if their prediction is accurate or not. Well worth a visit, but get there early!

1381769_10151983316276327_826339807_n
Me @ Veggie Bar with the Duo – delish

POSITIVE EATING VEG OUT TIMEΒ (366 Chapel st, South Yarra)

This is barely a restaurant, to be honest, but it is probably the place where I’ve had the most meals in Melbourne (including my own flat). It’s a bit of a hole in the wall on Chapel street, and many people would probably pass it by, but they do not know what they are missing out on! The food here is delicious, cheap and filling, and if I was just out for lunch this would definitely be my first choice, always.

Leave a Reply

