perth

So I went to Perth! It was a bit willy-nilly, I suppose. I wanted to see a bit more of Australia, and I have a friend here, so I thought I would give it a go. My first impression of this city was that it was almost like an amusement park; small and delightful and the streets smell like popcorn! I quickly figured out that that is only because I am staying in the arty part of town, and there’s a San Churro down the street.

IMG_3680.JPG

I’ve been amusing myself by going to the botanical gardens, which are absolutely beautiful and well worth a visit. My slightly updated view of this city is that it’s a lot smaller than Melbourne, and there’s a lot more homeless people here. Street harassment seems to be a thing a lot more than it is in Melbourne, unfortunately, but during my time in Melbourne I have realised that it is a safe haven for women. I think I would not need more than at least both my hands and feet to count the times I’ve been sexually harassed on the street in Melbourne – and yes, I realise that is a sad thing to say, but if you compare and contrast to London, for example, where it will happen maybe sixteen times every time you leave the house, it seems like it’s not so bad.

Anyway, back to Perth. I’ve got another two weeks here, and I intend to make the most of that. I haven’t been to the beach yet, so I’m going there as soon as I can. I just have to find a day where I have the motivation, the weather is right, and I don’t have plans that night. Because I am the type of person who can do one thing only in a day.

Leave a Reply

