freckles galore

As I am wont to do on my days off, today I tried a new and exciting idea for what I put on my face.

20140523-172126-62486425.jpg

Products used:

Face: MAC Skin Base primer, Ben Nye cream stick foundation in Ivory, Ben Nye neutral set translucent powder, Ben Nye Final Seal, Gorgeous Cosmetics cheek creme in Caramel Whip, Gorgeous Cosmetics cheek creme in Sweet Cream, Illamasqua cream pigment in Hollow

Eyebrows: Illamasqua cream pigment in Hollow, Cosmetics cheek creme in Caramel Whip

Eyes: half lashes from Daiso, Too Faced Romantic Eye palette (Bouquet toss, I do, Un-Veil and Soulmates), Chanel Stylo Yeux waterproof eyeliner in Noir Intense, Mac Zoom Eyes mascara

Lips: Smashbox lip gloss in Luster

Freckles: I know you can get similar gems from many different makeup brands (Makeup Store being the first to come to mind), but mine are just from a craft store ages ago, and I applied them with Duo eyelash glue

I wasn’t sure what to do today, but I don’t like to waste a face like this, so I went for a stroll and a coffee. Loads of people came up to compliment me and ask if my hair is real, which is always a good metric of success. Another metric of success would be the fact that Illamasqua featured me on their Instagram again! I swear I peed a little when I saw it.

I’m really happy with this look! It actually came out even better than I had dared hope for. I want to try it with glitter, as well; I wasn’t sure which one to do first, but I think glitter might give more of a subtle, “natural” look to it. This one’s very like “I’ve drawn freckles on my face to pretend I’m  from the country” whereas I’m hoping that if I do it with one glitter in particular that I’m eagerly waiting to receive, it might trick people into thinking I’ve actually got freckles until the light catches on it and they realise it was all a lie (I love breaking dreams, you see).

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to use spirit gum or eyelash glue to apply the gems, but I opted for eyelash glue this time because it was closer at hand, and I know from experience that it works well for small bits like this. If I was going out at night or needed it to look good for hours on end, I probably would prefer to use spirit gum, though.

One thought on “freckles galore

Leave a Reply

