finishing makeup

Screen Shot 2014-05-20 at 14.14.14

I am, at times, very aware that I have a lot of makeup. I am very happy, about it, to be honest! I love buying makeup, I love using it, I love having it just so I can open pots and smell it and look at the colours and if I wasn’t afraid of damaging it, I’d probably put it all on the floor and roll around in it.

I bought loads of makeup recently, and I have absolutely no regrets about it, but I do want to finish some products off. I also, and more importantly, want to use everything I own. I believe that if buying something for 100 dollars makes you happier than having those 100 dollars in the bank, it’s worth it! One thing that’s absolutely not worth it, though, is to get something and just never use it. So this week, I am challenging myself to use makeup I never use! It’s a bit like shop my wardrobe, except shop my makeup drawer, instead.

20140521-043043.jpg

The first thing I’d love to use more is my Romantic Eye palette, from Too Faced (on the left). To be honest, I don’t think it’s an amazing palette. At least half of the colours are a bit weird, especially in the suggested combinations. The other half are really nice, though, and the top left is an amazing highlight colour. AnotherΒ thing I’d like to use more is my Insurance policy palette, also from Too Faced (on the right). It’s got some gorgeous colours in it, and it was actually one of the first makeup items I bought from a good brand. I love the pink in particular, so I’m not sure why I never use it!

20140521-163333.jpg

Something I want to finish completely and let go from my life is my Pure Diamond Powder from Nivea (bottom right). It’s an okay product, but I’ve seen it done better from other brands – I have at least five other products that do roughly the same thing, but better. Both my iridescent highlight on the top, and the very finely milled glitter do very similar things depending on how you use them, and I prefer them both to the diamond powder. I’ve had it for years, just because it’s something that I only ever use if I can’t find the other ones. I know it will make me feel better if I just finish it so I can then use my good highlighters without sparing a thought to the mediocre one!

I think the reason why I use pretty much the same products all the time is because I don’t plan my looks in advance enough. Unless there’s a specific item I’ve been wanting to use, I pretty much just start doing it and then go with what my heart tells me. I usually have some kind of idea of what I want to do, but I still end up using the same products all the time. Trying to use others will take a bit more planning, but I’m hoping it will be worth it!

Leave a Reply

