the time I nearly got arrested

A few days ago, I committed the heinous crime of putting my feet up on the seat on the train. I know you’re not supposed to, but it’s just way more comfortable! I would encourage them to put in footrests in convenient places, but maybe that’s just me.

I had the amazingly bad luck of being caught by a ticket officer, and because he was being a dick about it, I sent off a text to the Captain going “lol I think I’m getting arrested”. I think he thought I was trying to set someone up to confirm a fake address, because he demanded to look at it – and then he proceeded to tell me that I would probably actually get arrested as I didn’t have anything on me that proved my address!

I was terrified because 1. I have never been arrested as my juvenile delinquencies went undetected, and 2. I’m pretty keen on avoiding an arrest record in Australia in particular as they might try to throw me out or something if I look at them funny. Don’t laugh, I’ve seen Border Control.

I did manage to get a hold of my landlord to have him confirm my address, but the half hour before that was well scary! Now that I’ve started in on my path of criminal damage, who knows what I’ll do next? Better try not to do it out in the open, next time.

Leave a Reply

