retrograding

Today is a rainy, terrible day in Melbourne (not surprisingly; we’ve been having lovely weather lately and this is the kind of city where eventually the bad weather you’ve missed out on will catch up to you). I decided that I was not leaving the house in any way except virtually, and in my idle faffing about I found a site where you can play all the old Sega Genesis games online.

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 1.43.53 PM

Anyone recognise this? I played it ALL THE TIME when I was an impressionable child. The Lion King was (and is!) my favourite Disney movie and this video game is my childhood, basically. I never actually managed to beat it until I was 22 and got an emulator from a friend (which has since been passed on to another friend), but I loved it so much. I could never beat the second to last level, because that’s basically a great big maze, and my spatial reasoning was not sufficiently advanced at the time (I’m not sure if this is true but I need you all to know I know big words).

So yeah, that’s my plan for today and all other days this week.

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 1.58.48 PM

Look at his little terrified face! Run, Simba, run!

Leave a Reply

