circus princess in the making

Last Sunday, I went to the open day I mentioned a few posts down, at Pole Divas in Richmond, and it has already pretty much taken over my life, even though the course I signed up for hasn’t even started yet!

I got there at a quarter to two, after faffing about trying to find the anonymous doorway for a few minutes (turns out that if I’d kept my eyes peeled for pink and black balloons, I would have been fine, but don’t catch me being observant or anything). I got to sign some papers saying that if I died they weren’t responsible, had a look at the stripper heels, and then we were off!

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the hoops class – I’m very weak, seeing as any exercise I ever do tends to be all about my legs rather than my arms, so I thought for sure I wouldn’t be able to do anything. Turns out, I was wrong! Granted, I did get some help getting up into that hoop, but once I was up there, I felt like a regulation circus princess! I completely forgot how my poor muscles absolutely couldn’t take it just because it was so much fun. (And when I say they couldn’t take it, I really mean it – I could barely slice an apple when I got back home!)

After that, the pole dancing lesson just wasn’t up to par – it was fun, for sure, but I was already enamoured of the hoops, and you know how you get sometimes in the first throes of new love – nothing else even registers. So I signed up for hoops on the spot, and nearly cried when she told me classes wouldn’t actually start for another two weeks. I’ll just have to use this time to build up my strength a bit!

Image from poledivas.com.au

So from the 29th onwards, I will have one thing only in my head. I only wish I could do it every single day!

Leave a Reply

