NaNoWriMo 2013

Ever since 2007, I have (sporadically) done Nanowrimo: National novel writing month. You’re meant to write a novel of at least 50.000 words in November (even if it’s shit! Editing it is for when you’re actually done!), and if you manage that, you win! One of the things I’d really like to do during my year in Australia is start in on my dream of writing for a living and actually do something about it – you’ll never be an author if you don’t actually write, right? So my bad habit of procrastinating ends now.

When I say I’ve done NaNoWriMo in previous years, I mean not really to the fullest extent because I have never actually finished it. I’ll give myself a bronze star for participating – failure is the best way of working out what doesn’t work for you, after all! With that in mind I should know exactly what to so by now though, so this time I’m here to win.

One thing I’d like to do differently this year, for example, is that I’d like to go to some meetups for participants. I think that having someone cheer you on can definitely make a difference if you’re not used to actually writing all the time, so I am hoping that will help me stick to my goals. I also don’t really know anyone except the Captain here in Melbourne yet, so I am keen to get to know some people so that I can get out of her hair and let her do her own thing once in a while! The first one I can make is tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll have loads to report after that. Here’s to a really productive November!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013

    1. I’m super chicken too! I’m going to do it anyway and I bet that once I have, I’ll just wonder why I was scared in the first place. Maybe you should too!? Consider, also, that since it’s a writing meetup everyone who goes is bound to be a giant nerd and thus not scary at all πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

