Making your space your own

Having lived in furnished rooms in flatshares (as you do in London) for two years now, I’ve not really put my own touch on any of the places I’ve lived, but I think it’s high time for me to start doing that the next time I move. Obviously, moving frequently and living in small rooms where all the space is already taken up by the necessities is not conducive to taking the time and energy to really make the space your own.

Veronica Varlow (who is awesome, by the way. Just sayin’) wrote about the magic of making a room your own a few weeks ago, and it really spoke to me. I do keep my room quite messy, and I never really feel like it’s a space I want to inhabit, even though it’s where I spend a majority of my time! So in order to feel better about myself, my life and everything, I’ve begun making a plan for what I want out of my living space, and how I want it to look in order to best reflect me.

This video is 22 minutes long but I honestly used to watch it several times a day a few months back, just because the setup of her makeup collection is so amazing. I definitely want a similar vanity – preferrably a really old school one with soft light bulbs all around the edge of the mirror! I also love having scented products to make my room smell like a boudoir rather than a plain old bedroom, though I prefer reed diffusers to scented candles, as they are less effort and won’t burn your house down if you don’t watch them carefully!

I want a cozy chair with a little table beside it so I don’t have to spend all my time in my bed – which is what I do currently, as it is the only comfortable space in my room.

Another thing I don’t think I can live without is a full length mirror. I will concede that maybe this suits better in the living room or hallway, especially if it’s only me and the Captain living there. I know she will use it just as much as I will, and if I just have to prance around in my pretty new underwear to see what it looks like, I know she will just take it in stride.

Obviously this is just a very loose collection of ideas for now, but I always think it’s helpful to think of what you want out of something for a good while before actually taking steps to realise it – letting the idea solidify in your head a bit before throwing yourself into something you might not even want a few weeks later. Even so, it’s only making me more excited for my move!

Leave a Reply

